Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve been brainstorming for options for Thank You cards that we could use in our packaging once we open our online store next month.  First of all, I needed something that was affordable (keeping my fingers crossed that we will be selling lots of items). And secondly,  since we started Sundara Fabrics to bring unique Indian fabrics to American quilting and sewing enthusiasts, I really wanted something that was representative of who we are.

The whole family (mom/ business partner, dad, and my two kiddos… hubby was in Miami for work) and I headed up to Knoxville a couple of weeks ago for one last quilt show before we start up.  There we found Jamie and her lovely daughter selling wood block stamps from India, made just for printing on cloth or paper.  How perfect is that, especially since we will be selling hand block printed fabric?!

I picked out a large paisley, while Syd chose a sweet elephant.  Once home, we spent some time practicing with different paints and paper.  I found that I preferred the classic look of the black print on a clean white background.  And now we’ve got our first batch of notecards!

I’m looking forward to seeing what Jamie has at Quilt Market in Houston this fall.  She also has this website where you can find some of her wood blocks for purchase:  http://www.colouricious.com/

